Similar examples of my idea

Decide Your Own Adventure Stories

This app was the only example with a similar concept to my idea, although I will execute it differently. Unlike this app my one will be directed at children, also the designs are quite dull which will be of a complete contrast to my app. There are also bad reviews in relation to the stories and functionality, I will take note of these so that my app is successful in those departments.

IMG_7178   IMG_7179  IMG_7180Most similar

Read Me Stories – Children’s books                                                                                      

I like this app, there are a lot of books categorised in groups. I’m not too fond on the designs, nor the transitions between pages however I like the manner in which aspects are laid out.

IMG_7172IMG_7174IMG_7177IMG_7176

FarFaria: Free Children’s Books                                                                                         

I really like this app I think it’s brilliant. I would hopefully like to create something as good as this. There are tons of books, however they all look quite different from each other, I will make the books in my app all look consistently similar. My app will also be interactive with the stories as well as the possibility of making decisions throughout which is not apparent in these books.

IMG_7162IMG_7163IMG_7164IMG_7166IMG_7170IMG_7168IMG_7167IMG_7171

PlayTales                                                                                                                            

This app is also well done, however I am no too keen on the illustrations, and the pages are quite pixilated. Also the books are expensive, with only a few books that are free. However I think it will be good for inspiration, and research.

IMG_7159IMG_7158IMG_7161

iBooks – children category                                                                                                    iBooks have a section for children which is great, however the books are very expensive and the layout is very plain.

iBooks

MyBackpack                                                                                                                        

A very well done app that I enjoyed using, the illustrations and interactions are really good. The app works well and is easy to use. Although I couldn’t find an iOS version.

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 12.55.46 Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 12.55.54 

Leave a Reply

